Ono flavors of home

WP_20160518_14_28_46_Pro

I am sitting on the lanai watching the storm blow in off the ocean like a battleship coming into port. It is a menacing grey presence on a rather humid afternoon. The outdoor fire is rather ornamental and along with the fountain I am not missing any of the elements. This is bliss. Wasabi prawn crunch roll and shoyu poke, warm air fragrant with the scents of food and flowers and of course exhaust. Such is life in the city. I miss it and I have not even left yet. The birds underfoot pecking for crumbs. Even the underbelly, the homeless and questionable alleyways, the twilight hours bringing about all manner of folk with hobbies not meant for daylight. I will miss it all. This is how it goes. Roots or wings. I don’t want to think about the past. There truly is only this moment and then I move on to the next destination.

Leave a Reply

