Stomping Grounds

This morning I unfurled my woolen cocoon and donned pants while downing caffeine. The rain has stopped and the clouds parted to a perfect show of cerulean.I find myself alone on a dock with scaups scrutinizing me from a safe distance. The wind runs down the mountain, playful and cold, rocking my world  with emerald green waves. The chaos is beautiful. I have been wearing my socks for days and peel them off to wash my feet in the water; a baptism of sorts. My fingers are chilled and they are uncooperative, it is a good trade for an experience like this. They say you should create a life you do not need to escape from. “They” know what they are talking about.

Leave a Reply

