Winds of Change

makaha-sons-of-niihau-keala-front.jpg

What song does your soul sing?

I turned the record player up as loud as it would go and I danced with the dog in the

dining room where we used to eat dinner together.

My odometer this morning summed everything up.

Almost 400 miles in just about eight months.

I’ve come a long way baby,

both figuratively and literally.

I look in the mirror and I think I actually see me.

A few more grey hairs, freckles and lines.

My skin still glows a bit from the summer sun.

You say you know me but I barely know myself.

I was not born on the island but I cherish the notion that I am a child of the land

call me a Kamaʻāina and I will spend the rest of my life trying to put down roots.

This is the first time in more than a decade I don’t have a home to call my own.

I’m not mad, to be a nomad.

I found a tribe and am finding myself.

Let me tell you this is the scenic tour.

I am packing my bags and preparing myself for a long journey.

No need for introductions, it is not my name anyways.

I will just smile and wave.

I lost my map and perhaps my mind, and I’ll be fine, yet hard to find

but this life will finally be mine.

I’ve got courage and gratitude,

honour and truth.

I invoke the past and raise tradition up in my every action.

You remember the banyan I sat under as a child?

Be more like that tree.

I’ll find my way back eventually.

Where I will go, the wind only knows.

What I do and what I believe

is

everything

period.

Don’t keep up with the Joneses, they don’t even own their own souls.

Matthew, MATTHEW?!

It’s 12:30 and I have to go.

The mountains are old, but they know we will be under the same moon night after night.

Just look up and we will be there and you can take me in your arms and we will

dance beneath the stars.

She is out there and I am going to find her or make her proud.

 

Waimanalo Blues 

Wind’s gonna blow, so I’m gonna go
Down on the road again
Starting where the mountains left me
I’m up where I began

Where I will go, the wind only knows
Good times around the bend
Get in my car, goin’ too far
Never comin’ back again

Tired and worn, I woke up this mornin’
Found that I was confused
Spun right around and found I had lost
The things that I couldn’t lose

The beaches they sell to build their hotels
My father’s and I once knew
Birds all along sunlight at dawn
Singing Waimanalo blues

Down on the road with mountains so old
Far on the country side
Birds on the wing forget in a while
So I’m headed for the windward side

All of your dreams, sometimes it just seems
That I’m just along for the ride
Some they will cry because they have pride
For someone who’s love here died

The beaches they sell to build their hotels
My father’s and I once knew
Birds all along sunlight at dawn
Singing Waimanalo blues

Leave a Reply

