Free To a Good Home

20150919_181303

There had to have been about 50 to 60 pounds of food in the overflowing banana box. They were smiling from ear to ear when they dropped it off on my front porch. This was the biggest haul yet.

Bananas that were just ripe, oranges, lemons, and apples of every color in perfect shape. At the bottom there was cantaloupe. They were very, very ripe and once peeled were perfect to eat.

They got it all for free just by asking if there was any fruit the store was throwing away.

I had not tasted a melon in more than a year. It was fragrant and sweet and it was garbage.

As I sat on the floor, peeling and slicing all this food that was diverted from the dum(b)ster, I felt the tears well up for the first time. This fruit was a luxury that I had not had much this summer. Sure I foraged for berries and plums on the sides of roads and forgotten fields, but I rarely could justify the prices of fruit in the stores. Here I was though sitting amongst a huge heap of beautifully ripe fruit that was rejected for being ready to eat, for being too small or a little different.

I could relate to these pieces of fruit. I could bring purpose to this wasted food. I decided not to be sad for how the system fails, but rather make any positive change no matter how seemingly insignificant.

If I want a better world, I need to be a better person.

Thank you for the fruit, thank you for the gift.

2 thoughts on “Free To a Good Home

Leave a Reply

