Arugula Seeds = Currency

I have been bartering and trading heirloom carrot seeds and kale seeds for various items. Finally this year I was able to collect Arugula seeds! My Arugula self seeded last year and gave me a lovely patch of peppery produce this year. It is now late July and the greens and flowers are long gone and all that is left is the dry stocks and seed pods. I used an empty yogurt container to catch the seeds as I rub the dry seed pods between my fingers. I don’t worry if the pods fall in the container I take them out as they accumulate. After a little while I have what seems like thousands of seeds! I will carefully pick out any of the dried plant refuse and mark the container with the type of seeds and the year collected.  I look forward to planting them and trading them, bartering them and sharing them!

Leave a Reply

