The Ancient Art Of Gleaning Revived

Gleaning has been documented throughout history. In ancient times corners or edges  of fields were left unharvested for the poor and hungry to gather. Today it is the act of collecting leftover crops from farmers’ fields after they have been commercially harvested or on fields where it is not economically profitable to harvest and that is what we did. After the machines had gone through the fields we were invited to glean the remaining blueberries from the field. For an hour and a half of labour I was gifted 6 pounds of beautiful blueberries which are now in the dehydrator to make healthy snacks that do not require refrigeration for road trips. I could not have been more ecstatic to be saving food from being wasted that will nourish us and feed our bellies. I have foraged a decent amount in my life but this was my first time gleaning and it was such a rewarding experience that I was so glad to share with my dear friend. We laughed and chatted as we worked in the hot fields and reaped an amazing reward. I am so grateful for experiences like this. I am also thankful to the Fraser Valley Permaculture Guild on Facebook for making such incredible opportunities available to us.

I know my actions are little when compared to so many others that are truly changing the world, but the sea is made up of droplets of water and I hope that my lifetime creates a noticeable and positive difference.

Little drops of water,
Little grains of sand,
Make the mighty ocean
And the pleasant land.

So the little moments,
Humble though they be,
Make the mighty ages
Of Eternity.

So the little errors
Lead the soul away
From the paths of virtue
Far in sin to stray.

Little deeds of kindness,
Little words of love,
Help to make earth happy
Like the Heaven above.

Julia Abigail Fletcher Carney

2 thoughts on “The Ancient Art Of Gleaning Revived

  1. We enjoyed gleaning in the Rio Grande Valley when we lived there. The brocolli farmer would put mountains of brocolli that were slightly too ripe for shipment. We gathered kiddie pools full of carrots and my kids first lemonade stand was really a Texas 10-14 onion stand at a garage sale. The farmer was going to have to plow them all under. Your blueberry picture is amazing!

    Liked by 1 person

    • i took the blueberry picture off the net as I do not have a digital camera at the moment. That is so awesome about your gleaning experiences! It blows my mind how much food we waste in Canada and the USA. I mean we produce enough food for everyone yet we let so much get thrown away. It is shocking really…

      Like

Leave a Reply

