Upcycled: Railway Ties From A Former Retaining Wall Into Step Garden For Potted Plants

upcycled plant steps

A friend gifted us railway ties he removed from an old retaining wall and we used them to make me a stacked wooden staircase to put all my potted plants on. I am so happy with the way this turned out. Originally I wanted to use them to build a raised bed but I was worried about the creosote leaching into the soil and so my husband came up with the idea and made this great display to show off my plants against the fence. I do not have to worry about putting trays under the pots as the wood is treated so it is not going to rot any time soon.

On a side note, we just moved up this fence and reused the old fence panels. Unfortunately the gate was in poor repair so we could not salvage it but we were able to use the panel shown in the photo above to replace it. This wood panel was rescued from being thrown out when his work did a major cleaning of a new location they were moving into. I don’t know what it was meant for originally but it makes a superb gate! One man’s trash is another man’s treasure!

Leave a Reply

