Kitchen Sink Crackers (Vegan With Everything But Gluten!)

gluten free cracker

I love these crackers. They are crispy and crunchy and packed with protein and fibre and flavour; WOW!

Feel free to play with the ingredients. Add spices or leave them out. It is all up to you. You will need brown rice, chia seeds and quinoa  because that is the glue to these crackers!

INGREDIENTS

1 cup cooked brown rice

1 cup cooked quinoa

1/4 cup sesame seeds

1/4 cup flax seeds

1/4 cup chia seeds

1/4 poppy seeds

1/4 cup pumpkin seeds

SPICES (to taste)

Black pepper, sea salt, garlic, onion flakes, onion powder, parsley flakes

METHOD

Cook up the rice and quinoa in a pot.

In a food processor, blend pumpkin seeds and put them in a bowl with the spices and other seeds.

Once the rice and quinoa are cooked put them in the food processor and blend until it is a sticky ball. If your rice and quinoa came out of the pot super sticky and mushy you might be able to skip the food processor and just smoosh it with a spoon.

Add sticky glom of rice and quinoa to bowl with seeds and spices and stir until mixed thoroughly.

On parchment paper (one layer underneath mixture and one on top to prevent sticking to the rolling pin) roll out mixture as thin as possible.

Keeping it on bottom layer of parchment paper, place on cookie sheet and bake in oven.

The cooking times will vary depending on the thickness that you rolled your crackers out to. I would place the crackers in the oven for about 20 minutes at 350 degree. Flip crackers and bake for another 15 minutes. Break crackers into cracker size pieces and then bake approximately another 20 minutes until golden brown and crispy. Keep a watchful eye on the crackers as you may need more or less time in the oven!

These are great served with the Zingy Vegan Herb Spread.

This recipe made almost 4 cookie sheets worth of crackers. But that is just how I roll… Get it? Roll? Rolling pin?

I saw a 184 gram box of organic crackers similar to this in the grocery store selling for over $8! Yikes!

2 thoughts on “Kitchen Sink Crackers (Vegan With Everything But Gluten!)

  1. This is Awesome! I’ll give the recipe to my lovely wife and cross my fingers! … chances are I will end up being the one to make them first someday when I get the time.
    Thanks for following my Permaculture Blog 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • I am really into permaculture so I want to learn as much as I can, so thank you! These crackers are really good. As soon as it is not as hot here and I am willing to turn on my stove I am totally going to whip up another batch! I hope you enjoy them as much as my family does!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

