Diet Dilemma: Whole Food, Plant Based Diet Challenge

Caleb's homemade pickles

So what is healthy, responsible, environmentally, friendly eating anyways? I mean, when did being a lacto ova pesca vegetarian become not good enough? I have been struggling with this concept. So I have decided that when my CSA (community supported agricultural) box starts next month I am going to do a Whole food, plant based diet challenge for thirty days.

A whole-food, plant-based diet is centered on whole, unrefined, or minimally refined plants. It’s a diet based on fruits, vegetables, tubers, whole grains, and legumes; and it excludes or minimizes meat (including chicken and fish), dairy products, and eggs, as well as highly refined foods like bleached flour, refined sugar, and oil

After figuring out what exactly a whole food diet is and is not I made a list of what I would want to include in addition to whole grains, fruits, vegetables, legumes, nuts and seeds. I want to include eggs, Silver Hills gluten free breads, corn tortillas, olive oil, coconut oil, and home brewed kombucha. There are allowable condiments too as long as they are basic like mustard, tahini, honey, nut butters or vinegar.

Why am I going to do this challenge?

Well I will be eating  in season and locally for the most part because of the CSA box.

I will be eating an almost vegan diet (excluding the eggs, yeast, honey and kombucha) and reaping many of the benefits and warm fuzzies that entails.

I will be cutting out refined white sugar and most sweets other than honey and naturally occurring sugars in food.

I will be cutting out dairy and the possibility of hormones, antibiotics and other unfortunate gribblies  that come with drinking Moo juice.

I will not be partaking in many if any processed food which means less packaging and less waste.

Overall I need a bit of a reset. I want to get healthier. I want to cut my sugar intake and reduce my use of any processed foods  and see how local and in season I can get. I want to be able to see just how close to a sustainable diet I can mimic.

Also if I lost a pound or too that would be okay as well.

For now I will be researching new recipes and planning for when the box arrives.

Leave a Reply

