Watch Your Mouth Or I Will Wash It Out With… Old Fashion Tooth Powder? This Just Got Interesting!

Remember when your mom said don’t put that in your mouth? She should have been referring to commercially bought tooth pastes.

Dicalcium Phosphate, Phosphate Dihydrate, water, glycerin, Sodium Lauryl Sulphate, cellulose gum, flavour, tetrasodium  pyrophosphate, and sodium saccarine. Do you know what these ingredients are? I did some investigating and I personally want to avoid putting Sodium Lauryl Sulphate and  tetrasodium  pyrophosphate in my mouth. I also don’t want to be ingesting plastic. I realize that Crest will be removing their controversial plastic microbeads from their toothpaste but the fact that companies are adding ingredients such as plastic to products I put in my mouth and potentially swallow is just not okay. Not to mention spitting more plastic into our waterways. Bleh!

I have been researching all natural tooth powders and found many recipes before I finally settled on one I felt was worthy of brushing my teeth with. I decided to go to the market to get some bentonite clay for a tooth powder recipe I wanted to try when I came across a pre-made tooth powder. The ingredients included Calcium carbonate (natural chalk), sea salt, mustard seed powder, essential oils of peppermint, eucalyptus, clove, wintergreen, and oregano. I was ecstatic! I brought the powder home and added some bentonite clay and some Himalayan pink sea salt to it (which were both ingredients in the recipe I had wanted to try.) I poured the powder into a salt shaker and voila! I was ready to try my new toothpaste!  I have to admit that after the first use it felt dentist clean when I ran my tongue along my teeth!

If you want to try the original recipe that I was so enamored with you will find it at Joybilee Farms.

If you want to try the pre-made tooth powder I bought it is Uncle Harry’s.

I always am surprised at items I just accept and use and interact with, without questioning if it is good for me, if it is helpful and healthful or if it is causing harm to me or the environment. Commercial toothpaste is coming under such scrutiny and I have to say it is not something I want to use anymore.

There are many healthier options out there to get your teeth pearly white and some of them could possibly really benefit your oral health in a positive way.

Have you thought about dry brushing? Oil pulling? Using a washcloth to gently scrub your teeth? Have you thought about the benefits of essential oils used orally? Baking soda or good quality salt to brush with? (Remember to be gentle with brushing abrasives on your gums you don’t want to irritate them and have them recede).

There are alternatives to commercial toothpaste out there and I am really pleased with the options!

2 thoughts on “Watch Your Mouth Or I Will Wash It Out With… Old Fashion Tooth Powder? This Just Got Interesting!

Leave a Reply

