Cilantro Pesto With Almonds

I can say I honestly never have pine nuts in the house. Other nuts yes, but not pine nuts therefore I have never made traditional pesto. Who needs traditional anyways?! This recipe is quick and easy and I managed to make it with ingredients I commonly have in the house. I don’t know what you have in your cupboards and fridge but with some tweaking of this forgiving recipe I bet you could be enjoying some lip smacking pesto for dinner tonight as well.

INGREDIENTS

One bunch Cilantro leaves and stems (why waste food? Eat those stems!)

1/2 cup almonds

1/4 cup olive oil

1/4 cup Parmesan cheese

splash of lemon juice

three peeled, raw, garlic cloves

salt and pepper to taste

PROCESS

Jam it all into a food processor and grind it until it is a nice paste. That is it. Serve and have your taste buds blown away by a flavour explosion.

I have made this recipe with mint and it is also delicious. You could easily switch to a different oil if needed, you could even use different nuts like hazelnuts. Use lime juice instead of lemon, or use fresh citrus instead of concentrated. I suck at following recipes if you have not noticed. *Winks*

2 thoughts on “Cilantro Pesto With Almonds

Leave a Reply

