In Honor Of Earth Hour

11091500_10152889530909794_3942018789209177341_n

Earth Hour 2015 is almost upon us. I will admit I rarely remember to turn off my lights at this time. Most of my life is about trying to use less power, not just one for hour. I totally appreciate the movement and this year I will participate because I want to honor the efforts being made world wide. For some people, this will be a novelty, for others this is a lifestyle. For me, I am caught between modern living and a yearning for self sufficiency and a smaller carbon footprint. I will turn off my lights, heat source, and not use any running water. I will not drive anywhere. I will not turn on any electrical items other than those that are in use already (like the fridge etc.) I will turn off my computer and unplug. I feel this is a very insignificant offering to a dire situation, but then I remind myself that the ocean is made up of drops of water. I must remind myself that all the little things will add up to greatness. Perspective…

Little drops of water,
little grains of sand,
make the mighty ocean
and the beauteous land.

And the little moments,
humble though they may be,
make the mighty ages
of eternity.

Julia Carney, 1845

Leave a Reply

