Hiring Help On Your Homestead When You Cannot Get The Job Done Yourself

This morning the temperature was 57 degrees Fahrenheit… inside the house. It is February and the gas furnace has decided to no longer work. We looked at it but couldn’t figure out what was wrong so I need to figure out if it is worth fixing or needs to be replaced.

It happens. Sometimes a job is just beyond our skill set. I always get concerned when I need to hire outside help. How much will it cost? Will they know what is wrong? Would it be better to replace it or cheaper to fix it?

I am going to have to do some research to find out more about my furnace before I am willing to call someone. It is times like this that I am grateful for the internet.

Self-sufficiency is important. I pride myself on being a jack of all trades but there are times that the correct thing to do is to admit I need help on a job. This furnace is more than I can handle.  I asked people I know if they could fix it. Alas it seems I am not alone in my lack of understanding of the heat spewing beast in the basement. Now I am moving onto asking the professionals.

We know the basics about cars so we can make minor repairs and maintain our fleet of junkers, but we have a mechanic for BIG jobs.

We are competent in fixing up our old house but we have a carpenter for jobs that are more than we are comfortable in contending with.

Now we will need to seek someone’s skills in regards to our furnace.

It is always good to find people you can trust to help you when you need it. Sometimes it can save you money having the job done right the first time. If you are not sure about a project or task you need to complete it is okay to ask for help.

Today I am using my skills to keep warm.

Leave a Reply

