Homemade Laundry Soap For Pennies A Load

IMG_1608

This laundry soap recipe is cheap and quick to make. It is highly concentrated so you only use one rounded teaspoon per load! Make a paste with water and this becomes a powerful stain remover when added directly onto the offending mark.

RECIPE

1 cup Borax (sodium borate) is a naturally occurring alkaline mineral salt.

1 cup Washing Soda (This is not baking soda, it is Sodium Carbonate, Na2CO3)

1 bar of Fels-Naptha bar soap finely grated (I just use a cheese grater and do this by hand)

INSTRUCTIONS

Mix the above items together and put in a glass jar or other container on hand.

USE ONLY ONE ROUNDED TEASPOON PER LOAD

Feel free to add in distilled white vinegar or baking soda to any load that needs more whitening, brightening, cleaning or deodorizing power.

Enjoy the saving and the clean laundry!

6 thoughts on “Homemade Laundry Soap For Pennies A Load

  1. I found that after a year of using my home-made laundry powder (the same recipe as yours but I got it elsewhere) my towels, pillowcases and necks of my nighties were turning yellow. I used more than a rounded teaspoon per wash so that may have been the problem. I’m wondering if you’ve had the same experience.

    Like

    • I have not found any yellowing of the fabric yet. I wonder if it might be the mineral content of your water interacting with the chemicals? When I hand wash clothes in the sink with a washboard, I use the same homemade soap and I use the same quantity that I would for a full washer machine load and there has not been any discoloration. I use cold water in the washing machine and warm water when I hand wash. Do you use bleach? Bleach is known to yellow clothes. One of the fixes is actually using Borax! This is quite a dilly of a pickle. Sorry I cannot be more help.

      Like

  2. Thanks. I might wait until I use up the store bought powder and maybe have another go at the home made one. I still have some left.

    Like

  3. Pingback: Toxic Laundry Air Pollution | shamelesshousewife

  4. Pingback: How Dirty Girls Get Clean | shamelesshousewife

Leave a Reply

